I've Been Meaning to Tell You

Precio $278 Precio Gandhi $240

I've Been Meaning to Tell You

I've Been Meaning to Tell You

ISBN
9a539e9c-73a8-31b4-aec5-3d0e37e394b8
"Quite simply, one of the most beautiful books I have ever read." --Aminatta Forna "Stunning. A precise puncturing of the post-racial bubble." --Nafkote Tamirat In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me, acclaimed novelist David Chariandy's latest is an intimate and profoundly beautiful meditation on the politics of race today. I can glimpse, through the lens of my own experience, how a parent or grandparent, encouraged to remain silent and feel ashamed of themselves, may nevertheless find the strength to voice directly to a child a truer story of ancestry. When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask, "What happened?" David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. A decade later, in a newly heated era of both struggle and divisions, he writes a letter to his now thirteen-year-old daughter. The son of Black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, David draws upon his personal and ancestral past, including the legacies of slavery, indenture, and immigration, as well as the experience of growing up as a visible minority in the land of his birth. In sharing with his daughter his own story, he hopes to help cultivate within her a sense of identity and responsibility that balances the painful truths of the past and present with hopeful possibilities for a better future.
  • Categoría BISAC SOC007000
  • Formato Epub 3
  • Idioma Inglés
  • Año 2019
Agregar a mi lista de deseos